Signs of Spring 2.0 – What is happening in my gardens?

Last night I was talking with my neighbor and looked down at my gardens. I knew the lilacs were budding and the daffodils were blooming. But what I hadn’t realized was that my raised gardens were coming back to life.

My Rhubarb!

Then WHAT? Brussel Sprouts? I didn’t know they would survive the winter, I had just been waiting until late April to pull them out of the garden! Mid March and yet another surprise from my garden!

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Signs of Spring 2.0 – What is happening in my gardens?

  1. Pappy says:

    Brussel Sprouts are best eaten after they have been frozen. You may not remember in Westford every thanksgiving morning I would go out in the garden and pick all the brussel sprouts for the dinner. Unless they have gone soft you can have a taste treat after cooking them for dinner.

    • IowaHardings says:

      Ours were bitter when I did that last fall. We have had such an unusual fall and winter this year, that might be why. Or it might be the kind of sprouts we grew. Ours were amazing when they were fresh. I can’t wait to see what happens to these plants over the next two months when the official planting season arrives. It looks like the next week will be in the upper 60’s and 70’s again. This is 15-20 degrees warmer than usual for this time of year and we have already had a week of those temps. At least we are expecting rain this week so I won’t have to water.

  2. Pappy says:

    P/S: They were well frozen by thanksgiving day.

Leave a comment